top of page
Search

5 Great Pieces of Exercise Equipment for your Home

There are tons of reasons that we may not want or be able to make it to the gym to workout. I hear of people being self-conscious, feeling that they are being watched and judged by the gym ‘regulars’ for not knowing how to use machines, not having the energy to make another stop after work, and on and on. For some people, it’s more practical and convenient to work out at home. When this is the case, I often assist them by recommending fitness equipment that they can use at home. Ideally, my goal is to ensure that the equipment that is chosen has multiple uses (or is extremely effective), can be stored easily, and is not too expensive. I usually discourage clients from starting their #fitnessjourney with expensive equipment because large purchases often take time to budget and prepare for, or there’s some huge delivery to wait for. This way, you can usually get your equipment delivered to you quickly or pick it up from the store! #Noexcuses!


Here are my recommendations for space-saving, multi-use equipment that you can use to whip yourself into shape at home:


 


Bosu

The Bosu is my favorite piece of equipment! It’s probably the most versatile piece of equipment on this list. The name Bosu stands for Both Sides Up and can be used with either the flat side, or the “ball” side up (the reason for the name). This piece is probably going to be your most difficult to hide, but it’s so worth it! You can use it for jumping, squats, push-ups, lunges, and almost anything else you can think of!


 

Jump rope

I always like to include a jump rope in my recommendations for home fitness equipment, because they take up nearly no space, but are very effective when it comes to burning calories. I like to put bouts of jumping rope between exercises to keep the heart rate up.





 

Bench/Stepper/Stairs

If you don’t have a set of stairs in your house near where you plan to work out, I recommend buying either a bench or a stepper. My primary thought is dips, which can be done on either of these, but the stepper and bench give you the ability to do dips as well as a host of other exercises. If you don’t have much storage space (and no stairs), the stepper may be a better choice for you.


 

Adjustable dumb bell set/ Kettlebells

I like these because for the average person that is just starting out on their fitness journey, these are adequate for most exercises. Plie squats, Russian twists, frontal/ lateral raises and many other exercise can be completed using either of these. Again, if a choice had to be made I’d tell my clients to get the dumb bell set. They can be easily stored and can be used in a multitude of ways.


 


Mats

I always recommend a fitness mat because when exercises are done on the floor, elbows, hips, backs, knees, and tailbones can sometimes end up very tender. Yoga mats are common but are really thin and don’t provide much cushioning. I always tell my clients to get a thicker mat…your body will thank you.





 

Most, if not all of these items can be purchased at Walmart, Target or Amazon.com. Once priced through Walmart, all items can be purchased for less than $300 (I chose the Bosu Home version for $119). If you are a serious bargain shopper, and don't mind dealing with multiple transactions, you can always check out resale stores like Play it Again Sports. This equipment will allow you to get a full body workout in the comfort of your own home, garage, or office! Let me know what you think!

19 views0 comments
bottom of page